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It Starts With Passion
           There‘s no shortage of creative thinkers out there.
           What‘s a little harder to find are creative thinkers who
           understand business. That‘s where Supernova Media
           Shines.

           We are a full service web company. We provide our
           customers with a uniform custom branded web
           presence.

           At Supernova Media we specialize in the speedy setup
           of WordPress websites & blogs. All our websites are
           mobile friendly, have onsite search engine optimization
           and social media integration.
Google+ Analytics

            Whether It‘s your personal site you‘ve built from
            the ground up or you oversee the digital strategy
            for a corporation/business, many of us are
            managing a web presence these days.

            There are millions of websites out there, and
            tracking how people are getting to your site and
            what‘s performing well is a must for being
            competitive in the online market.

            Google Analytics is the most widely used website
            statistics service, currently in use on around 55%
            of the 10,000 most popular websites.
Google Analytics

Google Analytics makes it easy for site managers
to track and analyze this data. It‘s a powerful, free
tool that generates detailed statistics about the
visitors to a website.

Wondering which keywords resonate with
visitors? Need insight on what design elements
might be turning people away?

Here‘s how you can start answering the website
questions that have been keeping you awake at
night.
Google Analytics

           Sign up for an account and set up a profile for the site
           you‘d like to track and the step-by-step process will
           generate a unique script for you. This is called the tracking
           code that you must implement on your website. If you‘re
           using a content management system or blogging platform
           like WordPress, you only need to add the code once to
           your template or theme. The theme will propagate the
           code in every post and page you create.

           If your site is custom-built, you‘ll either need to implement
           the code on each page manually, or speak to your web
           developer about how the site generates content.
Google Analytics

              If you're adding Google Analytics to a WordPress
              blog via the Google Analytics for WordPress -
              plugin, you need to add the property ID to the
              plugin settings.

              I recommend to use the Google Analytics for
              WordPress –plugin if you need the additional
              features like not tracking your own visits,
              automatically tracking outgoing links and other
              advanced features.
What you can Measure
        After you connect your site to Google Analytics, hit ―View Report‖ on
        the initial screen. This will bring you to the main dashboard. In the left
        column, you‘ll see the various types of data Google Analytics provides:

        •   Audience: This shows many things about the people coming to your
            site, including where they‘re located geographically, what language
            they speak, how often they visit your site and what computers and
            browsers they use to get there.

        •   Advertising: This lets you know all about your advertising programs
            and how well they are working complete with AdWords integration.

        •   Traffic Sources: Here you‘ll find how people got to your site. You
            can track which sites link to your page or keywords people search
            to find you.
What you can Measure

•   Content: This tab gives you insight into specific pages on
    your site. It can help answer questions about how people
    enter and exit your pages, as well as which ones are most
    popular.

•   Conversions: If you‘re aiming for established objectives,
    reports in the Goals tab will be helpful to you. Here you‘ll find
    data about desired actions from users, including downloads,
    registrations and purchases.

These tabs contain sub reports that provide insights about
specific aspects of your site, including top content and visitor
loyalty.
Dashboard
On the ‗Account Home‘ you can select which site you would like to
track. After you select the site you will be brought to your
dashboard. On the main dashboard, you‘ll see a summary of your
site‘s data- this is also the Visitors page. You can customize the
dashboard to show whichever reports you decide you want to see
upfront. By default you will see the number of daily visits you‘ve
had over a one month period. To change the report, select it from
the left column.

The graph can be viewed not only on a daily basis but also on a
weekly and monthly basis by clicking on the ‗Hourly‘ ‗Day‘ ‗Week‘
‗Month ‘at the top right hand corner of the graph. This is useful if
you want to measure month by month progress over a longer time
frame.

Not only will Google Analytics give you a graph to look at but it will   Weekly Report
also list your stats below.
Reports
Many of the reports in Google Analytics, such as pageviews and conversion rates, contain linear
graphs that present data for the topic and date range you‘ve selected. When mousing over the
dots on the line, you‘ll see measurements for that day, week or hour.

You can change the metric you want to visualize by clicking the tab above the graph on the left.
Here you‘ll also have the option to compare two metrics against each other. When you‘re not
comparing date ranges, you can compare against the site average. This is particularly helpful if
you‘ve laid out goals, as you can compare site activity to conversion goals. When comparing, a
second line (gray) will appear for the variable over the graph with the original metric line (blue),
making it easy to see how you‘re stacking up.
Sharing & Exporting


These graphs and reports can be
exported as PDF (recommended), XML,
CSV or TSV file by clicking on the
Export button in the top left corner or
you can email it by clicking on the Email
button. You can also schedule a
recurring report or add the report to an
existing pre-scheduled email.
Traffic Sources

Traffic Sources is another great tool for you
to utilize. It can help marketers understand
how well campaigns are working and how
better to invest in site content, advertising,
or other forms of engagement.

The Google Analytics Traffic Sources
section categorizes your site traffic as
"direct" traffic, "referring" traffic, "search
engine" traffic and ‗campaigns‘.

Direct traffic comes from people that type
your website address directly in the browser
or click on a bookmark.
Traffic Sources
              Referral traffic is traffic send from other websites. This
              means that you have a link on another website, or you
              post a link or an article on another website.

              Search engine traffic is traffic that your website receives
              from search engines. This traffic source is divided into
              organic or non-paid search engine traffic — meaning
              that the visitor clicked on a so-called natural search
              result — and CPC or paid search engine traffic, which is
              the traffic you purchase (via pay-per-click ads from
              search engines).

              Campaign traffic tracks visitors from a specific source,
              such as a an email newlsetter link.
Traffic Sources
Selecting "All Traffic Sources" from Google Analytics left-side
navigation will show you a table listing the most active traffic
sources and their medium. Direct traffic, as you would expect, has
a medium of "none." Traffic from Facebook, as an example, will
have a medium of "referral." Search engine traffic will have a
medium or "organic" or "CPC" as described earlier.

Sometimes you will see a search engine domain, like Google.com,
with the medium "referral." This indicates that the site sent you
traffic from a page other than a search engine results page. This
could be a link from a Google+ account or some other Google
service.

These are just a couple of ways to view traffic sources but if you
explore the sub menus within ‗Traffic Sources‘ you will find all sorts
of great options.
Conversion Rate
The goal of using Google analytics to design a website is to change a
visitor from someone who simply views web pages to someone who has
established some type of relationship with the website. When a webpage
viewer becomes a website customer, a relationship has been established
between the visitor and the website -- a conversion has taken place.

In the simplest terms your conversion rate is the percentage of visitors who
arrive at your landing page, who complete the task you want them to. This
could be clicking on a link, subscribing to a service, or making a purchase.
A conversion rate is calculated over a set time period, usually a week,
though it could be tallied over a day or a month. In most instances,
creating a dedicated landing page will help you acquire and analyze
conversion rates.

The simple logic behind this, is when you make your landing page more
persuasive, you increase your conversion rate.
Conversion Rate
          If the primary objective of a website is an online purchase, it is
          important to make the clickpath to the desired outcome short,
          clear, and easy to navigate. Generally, the fewer clicks needed to
          accomplish a purchase, the better customers like it. Study the
          attributes of visitors to your website and try to create a profile of
          those visitors who converted. Be able to answer these questions.

          •From where do your converted visitors tend to come?
          •How do converted visitors enter the website?
          •Do visitors from a specific search engine or advertisement return
          to the website?
          •What sources seem to drive the most interest in your website?
          •Does your website have any drop-off points?
Conversion Rate
The good thing is that Google Analytics can be set up to define the
necessary steps that distinguish a "true conversion." What you will need to
do, however, is sit down and decide which route you want to define as a
true path to visitor conversion in your own website.

The next thing you will need is a success URL that is different from the rest
of the URLs on your site. This is a tricky but important requirement. The
success URL needs to be entirely different from the URLs in the previous
steps. For example:

Step 1: www.somewebsite.com/

Step 2: www.somewebsite.com/contact.php

Step 3 (success URL): www.somewebsite.com/contact.php?x=success
Creating a Goal

To set up a Goal (to track conversion rates) Click to the
Conversions tab in the left menu. In the sub menu click
Goals and then click set up Goals.

You can create 5 goals. If you have none setup click
the first open Goal link.

You will then give your Goal a name, activate or
deactivate it and select which type of goal you would
like. Lets choose URL.

So, if your goal process ends with
www.somewebsite.com/contact.php?x=success, enter
that into the URL destination and click save.
Creating a Goal

So, if your goal process ends with www.somewebsite.com/contact.php?x=success, enter that
into the URL destination.

In the match type, you have three choices, "head match," "exact match" and "regular
expression match." You need to set this very carefully, or else Google Analytics may provide
the wrong conversion data. Check out how Google defines these here.
Creating a Goal

Next is your Goal Fennel. This only applies if you have several pages leading up to your goal.
If this is the case, select the box and enter the leading sites as prompted.

After this click Save.

Once your goal is created you will be able to view reports on the goal overview page.
Creating a Goal

Your conversion rate is the number of successful transactions divided by
the total number of unique visitors. The "Successful transaction" data is
taken as the number of "goals" achieved in Google Analytics. So as an
example, let us say we have the following statistics:

Total number of unique visitors to the website (in a one month period) =
3458

Total number of goals (those visitors that reach the download page)
reported in Google Analytics = 50

Then the conversion rate of website is around:

% Conversion rate = (50/3458) x 100% = 1.45%
Google Analytics

                   Now that we‘ve broken down some of
                   the basics, it‘s your turn to go for it.
                   There are SO many great tools and
                   features that are FREE for you to use
                   and experiment with so why not?

                   Knowing your audience and their traffic
                   patterns will help better your business
                   so you have nothing to lose.
Our Services
Being Passionate comes easy when you
genuinely enjoy what you do. We offer an
array of services at Supernova Media but
here‘s what we do best:

•   Web Design & Hosting
•   Consulting
•   Branding
•   Virtual Tours

We know that your success is our success.
Contact Us
About Nancy Bain
      Nancy is a business owner, educator, and business strategist
      with more than 20 years experience. When she is not advising
      and teaching people about social media, Nancy spends a lot of
      her own time using social media.

      Find Nancy online:

      Google+ : Nancy Bain       Like Supernova Media on
      Follow Nancy on Twitter    Facebook
      Visit her Website          Find her on LinkedIn
      Follow her Blog            And visit her YouTube Channel

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Google Analytics

  • 2. Stay Informed Join our E-Club http://bit.ly/SNMe-club to receive our monthly newsletter, with practical tips to increase brand awareness and strategies for more engaging relationships with your clients. Visit and Like our Facebook page http://on.fb.me/KFujSu Go ahead - post your Social Media & WordPress questions and get answers in real time.
  • 3. It Starts With Passion There‘s no shortage of creative thinkers out there. What‘s a little harder to find are creative thinkers who understand business. That‘s where Supernova Media Shines. We are a full service web company. We provide our customers with a uniform custom branded web presence. At Supernova Media we specialize in the speedy setup of WordPress websites & blogs. All our websites are mobile friendly, have onsite search engine optimization and social media integration.
  • 4. Google+ Analytics Whether It‘s your personal site you‘ve built from the ground up or you oversee the digital strategy for a corporation/business, many of us are managing a web presence these days. There are millions of websites out there, and tracking how people are getting to your site and what‘s performing well is a must for being competitive in the online market. Google Analytics is the most widely used website statistics service, currently in use on around 55% of the 10,000 most popular websites.
  • 5. Google Analytics Google Analytics makes it easy for site managers to track and analyze this data. It‘s a powerful, free tool that generates detailed statistics about the visitors to a website. Wondering which keywords resonate with visitors? Need insight on what design elements might be turning people away? Here‘s how you can start answering the website questions that have been keeping you awake at night.
  • 6. Google Analytics Sign up for an account and set up a profile for the site you‘d like to track and the step-by-step process will generate a unique script for you. This is called the tracking code that you must implement on your website. If you‘re using a content management system or blogging platform like WordPress, you only need to add the code once to your template or theme. The theme will propagate the code in every post and page you create. If your site is custom-built, you‘ll either need to implement the code on each page manually, or speak to your web developer about how the site generates content.
  • 7. Google Analytics If you're adding Google Analytics to a WordPress blog via the Google Analytics for WordPress - plugin, you need to add the property ID to the plugin settings. I recommend to use the Google Analytics for WordPress –plugin if you need the additional features like not tracking your own visits, automatically tracking outgoing links and other advanced features.
  • 8. What you can Measure After you connect your site to Google Analytics, hit ―View Report‖ on the initial screen. This will bring you to the main dashboard. In the left column, you‘ll see the various types of data Google Analytics provides: • Audience: This shows many things about the people coming to your site, including where they‘re located geographically, what language they speak, how often they visit your site and what computers and browsers they use to get there. • Advertising: This lets you know all about your advertising programs and how well they are working complete with AdWords integration. • Traffic Sources: Here you‘ll find how people got to your site. You can track which sites link to your page or keywords people search to find you.
  • 9. What you can Measure • Content: This tab gives you insight into specific pages on your site. It can help answer questions about how people enter and exit your pages, as well as which ones are most popular. • Conversions: If you‘re aiming for established objectives, reports in the Goals tab will be helpful to you. Here you‘ll find data about desired actions from users, including downloads, registrations and purchases. These tabs contain sub reports that provide insights about specific aspects of your site, including top content and visitor loyalty.
  • 10. Dashboard On the ‗Account Home‘ you can select which site you would like to track. After you select the site you will be brought to your dashboard. On the main dashboard, you‘ll see a summary of your site‘s data- this is also the Visitors page. You can customize the dashboard to show whichever reports you decide you want to see upfront. By default you will see the number of daily visits you‘ve had over a one month period. To change the report, select it from the left column. The graph can be viewed not only on a daily basis but also on a weekly and monthly basis by clicking on the ‗Hourly‘ ‗Day‘ ‗Week‘ ‗Month ‘at the top right hand corner of the graph. This is useful if you want to measure month by month progress over a longer time frame. Not only will Google Analytics give you a graph to look at but it will Weekly Report also list your stats below.
  • 11. Reports Many of the reports in Google Analytics, such as pageviews and conversion rates, contain linear graphs that present data for the topic and date range you‘ve selected. When mousing over the dots on the line, you‘ll see measurements for that day, week or hour. You can change the metric you want to visualize by clicking the tab above the graph on the left. Here you‘ll also have the option to compare two metrics against each other. When you‘re not comparing date ranges, you can compare against the site average. This is particularly helpful if you‘ve laid out goals, as you can compare site activity to conversion goals. When comparing, a second line (gray) will appear for the variable over the graph with the original metric line (blue), making it easy to see how you‘re stacking up.
  • 12. Sharing & Exporting These graphs and reports can be exported as PDF (recommended), XML, CSV or TSV file by clicking on the Export button in the top left corner or you can email it by clicking on the Email button. You can also schedule a recurring report or add the report to an existing pre-scheduled email.
  • 13. Traffic Sources Traffic Sources is another great tool for you to utilize. It can help marketers understand how well campaigns are working and how better to invest in site content, advertising, or other forms of engagement. The Google Analytics Traffic Sources section categorizes your site traffic as "direct" traffic, "referring" traffic, "search engine" traffic and ‗campaigns‘. Direct traffic comes from people that type your website address directly in the browser or click on a bookmark.
  • 14. Traffic Sources Referral traffic is traffic send from other websites. This means that you have a link on another website, or you post a link or an article on another website. Search engine traffic is traffic that your website receives from search engines. This traffic source is divided into organic or non-paid search engine traffic — meaning that the visitor clicked on a so-called natural search result — and CPC or paid search engine traffic, which is the traffic you purchase (via pay-per-click ads from search engines). Campaign traffic tracks visitors from a specific source, such as a an email newlsetter link.
  • 15. Traffic Sources Selecting "All Traffic Sources" from Google Analytics left-side navigation will show you a table listing the most active traffic sources and their medium. Direct traffic, as you would expect, has a medium of "none." Traffic from Facebook, as an example, will have a medium of "referral." Search engine traffic will have a medium or "organic" or "CPC" as described earlier. Sometimes you will see a search engine domain, like Google.com, with the medium "referral." This indicates that the site sent you traffic from a page other than a search engine results page. This could be a link from a Google+ account or some other Google service. These are just a couple of ways to view traffic sources but if you explore the sub menus within ‗Traffic Sources‘ you will find all sorts of great options.
  • 16. Conversion Rate The goal of using Google analytics to design a website is to change a visitor from someone who simply views web pages to someone who has established some type of relationship with the website. When a webpage viewer becomes a website customer, a relationship has been established between the visitor and the website -- a conversion has taken place. In the simplest terms your conversion rate is the percentage of visitors who arrive at your landing page, who complete the task you want them to. This could be clicking on a link, subscribing to a service, or making a purchase. A conversion rate is calculated over a set time period, usually a week, though it could be tallied over a day or a month. In most instances, creating a dedicated landing page will help you acquire and analyze conversion rates. The simple logic behind this, is when you make your landing page more persuasive, you increase your conversion rate.
  • 17. Conversion Rate If the primary objective of a website is an online purchase, it is important to make the clickpath to the desired outcome short, clear, and easy to navigate. Generally, the fewer clicks needed to accomplish a purchase, the better customers like it. Study the attributes of visitors to your website and try to create a profile of those visitors who converted. Be able to answer these questions. •From where do your converted visitors tend to come? •How do converted visitors enter the website? •Do visitors from a specific search engine or advertisement return to the website? •What sources seem to drive the most interest in your website? •Does your website have any drop-off points?
  • 18. Conversion Rate The good thing is that Google Analytics can be set up to define the necessary steps that distinguish a "true conversion." What you will need to do, however, is sit down and decide which route you want to define as a true path to visitor conversion in your own website. The next thing you will need is a success URL that is different from the rest of the URLs on your site. This is a tricky but important requirement. The success URL needs to be entirely different from the URLs in the previous steps. For example: Step 1: www.somewebsite.com/ Step 2: www.somewebsite.com/contact.php Step 3 (success URL): www.somewebsite.com/contact.php?x=success
  • 19. Creating a Goal To set up a Goal (to track conversion rates) Click to the Conversions tab in the left menu. In the sub menu click Goals and then click set up Goals. You can create 5 goals. If you have none setup click the first open Goal link. You will then give your Goal a name, activate or deactivate it and select which type of goal you would like. Lets choose URL. So, if your goal process ends with www.somewebsite.com/contact.php?x=success, enter that into the URL destination and click save.
  • 20. Creating a Goal So, if your goal process ends with www.somewebsite.com/contact.php?x=success, enter that into the URL destination. In the match type, you have three choices, "head match," "exact match" and "regular expression match." You need to set this very carefully, or else Google Analytics may provide the wrong conversion data. Check out how Google defines these here.
  • 21. Creating a Goal Next is your Goal Fennel. This only applies if you have several pages leading up to your goal. If this is the case, select the box and enter the leading sites as prompted. After this click Save. Once your goal is created you will be able to view reports on the goal overview page.
  • 22. Creating a Goal Your conversion rate is the number of successful transactions divided by the total number of unique visitors. The "Successful transaction" data is taken as the number of "goals" achieved in Google Analytics. So as an example, let us say we have the following statistics: Total number of unique visitors to the website (in a one month period) = 3458 Total number of goals (those visitors that reach the download page) reported in Google Analytics = 50 Then the conversion rate of website is around: % Conversion rate = (50/3458) x 100% = 1.45%
  • 23. Google Analytics Now that we‘ve broken down some of the basics, it‘s your turn to go for it. There are SO many great tools and features that are FREE for you to use and experiment with so why not? Knowing your audience and their traffic patterns will help better your business so you have nothing to lose.
  • 24. Our Services Being Passionate comes easy when you genuinely enjoy what you do. We offer an array of services at Supernova Media but here‘s what we do best: • Web Design & Hosting • Consulting • Branding • Virtual Tours We know that your success is our success. Contact Us
  • 25. About Nancy Bain Nancy is a business owner, educator, and business strategist with more than 20 years experience. When she is not advising and teaching people about social media, Nancy spends a lot of her own time using social media. Find Nancy online: Google+ : Nancy Bain Like Supernova Media on Follow Nancy on Twitter Facebook Visit her Website Find her on LinkedIn Follow her Blog And visit her YouTube Channel